Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie recipe

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ll be attending Friendsgiving later this evening – no day off today in the UK unless you request it as a holiday! Tonight’s Friendsgiving dinner is a potluck and I’ve decided to bring my mom’s famous and very tasty Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie. I picked up some apple butter on a recent trip to the states as it’s not readily available here in the UK. Although, you can easily make your own if you find yourself in a pinch. Here’s an easy prep recipe for apple butter from Brown Eyed Baker. It does require a slow cooker (crock pot) but you only need 8 basic ingredients and you’ll have plenty to give away for Christmas gifts!

I’ve received some weird looks from Brits when talking about apple butter, “Apples and butter?! Pardon?” That’s usually followed by a pretty disgusted face – but who would blame them? That description doesn’t sound too appetising.Image

The name’s a bit misleading but for those not in the know – apple butter is often made in the Midwest. You can usually find Amish selling homemade apple butter. Apple butter is a often spread on toast and full of pureed apples, cinnamon, nutmeg and other spices. It’s perfect for autumn.

Which brings me to my mom’s Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie. I’m normally not a fan of the original pumpkin pie recipe but this recipe – woah! It’s pretty spectacular. Top it off with some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream…let’s just say, you better be wearing sweatpants on Thanksgiving. I’ve even made it for a couple of past Thanksgiving days in Edinburgh and all my friends have thoroughly enjoyed.

So without further adieu…

Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie

apple pie ingredients
Pumpkin mixture
1 cup pumpkin (I used a can of Libby’s pumpkin – found in Lupe Pintos or Jenner’s if you’re living in Edinburgh)
1/4 c. packed brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup evaporated milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
3 eggs; beaten
1 9″ deep dish pie shell, frozen
Streusel Topping
Combine 3 Tbsp. softened butter, 1/2 c. flour, 1/3 brown sugar
If you decide to use the Libby’s pumpkin mix, I suggest leaving out the cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. I like my cinnamon though so I normally add the recommended 1/2 tsp of cinnamon listed above.
Preheat to 350 degrees Fahrenheit or 176 degrees Celcius. Combine filling in order given. Pour into pie shell.
Bake approximately 50-60 min. or until done (knife test). Top with streusel topping and bake 15 min. more.
Serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream. Enjoy! Let me know what you think. Happy Thanksgivingkah!
One thought on “Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie recipe

Leave a Reply

