Frock – word of the week

This weekend I’ll be travelling down to Essex (just north of London) tonight to attend a winter wedding this Saturday. To make this special day even more unique, there’s going to be a hint of the glitz and glitter of the roaring twenties. Fitzgerald’s Great Gatsby is trending at the moment in the high streets so luckily there are plenty of options out there for people attending winter weddings, Christmas nights out and New Years Eve celebrations. I considered plenty of options (I’ll be including my favourites below) but in the end I opted for this simple rich green dress from Anthropologie. The dress’s simple structure allows me to dress it up or down – giving me more options. It’s no secret among my friends and family that I’m slightly obsessed with Anthro. So when it happened to have a sale and I found this dress half off, well you see, that was it.

photo (5)So I thought with Christmas and New Year’s parties coming up, it’s only appropriate for this week’s word of the week to be “frock”. This is sometimes used in the states but it’s an archaic word (it’s Middle English and has been in use since the 1500s) in the states; however, in Scotland it’s used quite often. In fact, I was just asked by some colleagues of mine if I’ve gotten a frock for my work’s Christmas lunch. I find it’s more often used when referring to a more formal event that you’ll be attending i.e. a wedding. Although, perhaps this is not always the case.

I opted for this frock in the end because its fuller bottom was perfect for dancing. I didn’t fancy constantly squirming throughout the night to keep a tight dress from riding up. A simple dress also lets you be creative with your accessories and makeup and with a Gatsby theme to work to – it makes it that more fun! I found this gorgeous belt (pictured in the above photo) from Anthro – it was a bit of a splurge but it’s very well made and comfortable. They have a great selection of jewelled belts that can easily spruce up an outfit to make it ready for the holidays. It would also work well paired with a cardigan and jeans/skirt. Also the great thing about these belts is that they are elastic – the perfect belt when enjoying those extra festive treats and dinners!

I’ll be wearing some brushed gold geometric dangle earrings, an older purchase from Anthro (no longer available in their stores I’m afraid) and before you think I’m completely obsessed with this shop (I am), I’ll be adding to the look with these lovely gold glitter heels from New Look. They’re a cheap and stylish but comfortable shoe (with a practical 2 inch heel) that will allow me to dance without any pain! The heels dazzle in the light without it being over the top and you can easily add a bit of glamour to a pair of black skinny jeans with these shoes.

Vintage black pleated fabric bag with gold clasp
Vintage black pleated fabric bag with gold clasp

I’ll be completing the outfit, with this gorgeous black pleated bag with gold clasp that I found for £5 at a vintage fair in Edinburgh over the weekend. Its unique style and black colour will add a unique twist to any outfit.

What Christmas/New Year’s frocks have you purchased? Will you be jumping on the Great Gatsby/Downton Abbey trend this season?

Here are my favourite art deco/Gatsby glam dresses for this holiday season.

Coast's Brooklyn Dress on sale for £65 (http://www.coast-stores.com/brooklyn-dress/dresses/coast/fcp-product/2224833580)
Coast’s Brooklyn Dress on sale for £65
Coast's Alexis Short Dress for £95. Add a bit of rock or punk with some angle boots or chunky jewellry
Coast’s Alexis Short Dress for £95. Add a bit of rock or punk with some ankle boots or chunky jewellry
Hobbs' Gold Invitation Tamsin dress on sale for £139. Perfect for a posh corporate night out
Hobbs’ Gold Invitation Tamsin dress on sale for £139. Perfect for a posh corporate night out
French Connection's Spectacular Sparkle Dress £160 will be perfect for the dance floor
French Connection’s Spectacular Sparkle Dress £160 will be perfect for the dance floor
Coast's Deco Maxi dress is my absolute favourite. I would invent places to wear this at. But at £250 (on sale) it's definitely an investment piece but oh, so worth it!
Coast’s Deco Maxi dress is my absolute favourite. I would invent places to wear this at or pretend I’m Lady Mary of Downton Abbey and retire to the library with a cup of tea. But at £250 (on sale) it’s definitely an investment piece but oh, so worth it!

Which one is your favourite? Will you be purchasing one of the above?

One thought on “Frock – word of the week

Leave a Reply

