four simple goals

New Year’s Day is one of my favourite times of the year. The new year is a blank slate and it can become whatever you want it to be. Sure, many things in life you can’t plan – but for many of those unplanned moments, you often look back happy you had those experiences. For those things you can plan – why not start the new year with a couple of new, simple goals?  I’m not talking about big, lofty resolutions that are forgotten or abandoned and make you feel guilty for not achieving them.4 simple goals

I’m talking about just four simple things that you hope to do throughout the year. At the end of the year, you can look back and see that you did accomplish many things. Often it’s those little things that matter most after all. By completing small goals, you’ll be enriching your life and in turn, will be stronger, happier and healthier to support your family and friends.

This is something I’ve borrowed from the amazing blog A Beautiful Mess.

Here are some guidelines to help you find your four simple goals:

  1. Choose simple goals that will make your life richer and happier on a daily basis. Choose things that you might not otherwise get done, but that are not difficult to accomplish.
  2. Do not choose result-oriented goals. Choose activity-oriented goals. For example, instead of “lose 10 pounds”, choose something like “eat fresh fruits and vegetables every day.” Choose positive actions instead of the end result.
  3. Choose goals that are personal that you believe will truly make your life richer just by doing them. They can be daily, weekly or one-time experiences.
  4. Choose a reward for each goal as it is accomplished. It can be a small or large reward – it’s up to you!

My four simple goals for 2014 are:

1. Read more. I absolutely love reading but unfortunately, over the last few years, I’ve been really busy with work and my social life. I’ve been extremely grateful to be busy but I do want to carve out a wee bit of time to enjoy some good books in 2014. I’m even thinking about getting a basic Kindle to make it even easier. Thoughts? Any books that you can recommend?

2. Eat fresh fruits and vegetables every day. Here’s to a healthier year!

My wee niece Mackenzie in downward dog
My wee niece Mackenzie in downward dog

3. Try a new form of yoga. For the past couple of years I’ve done a yoga/pilates mix but I’m keen to try either Ashtanga, Hot Yoga or if it comes to Edinburgh, I’d absolutely love to try Barre. Have you tried any of these? Any recommendations for a newbie?

fabric for two skater dresses
fabric for two skater dresses

4. Continue to sew. In 2013, I made my first dress, which was followed by 2 skirts and a nearly completed chiffon maxi dress. I’d like to continue expanding my skills and practice with new fabrics and patterns.

What are your four simple goals for 2014? Whatever they are, I hope you have fun as you learn and grow through them.

5 thoughts on “four simple goals

Leave a Reply

