brolly

Considering it’s winter and those stateside (stay warm everyone!) will have felt the effects of the polar vortex and those in the south of the UK will have experienced massive flooding (hope everyone’s safe and sound!), I thought I’d have a post on UK weather.

It’s pretty rainy in the UK and somehow I feel like that might be a bit of an understatement. The state of the weather is even a national topic, often used when meeting  new people at the shops, at work, at the hairdressers, on the bus. It’s one of those safe and mutually shared issues that Brits are resigned and resilient to.brolly

Depending on where you are in the UK – you’ll have a varying degree of rain. In the south (e.g. London/Cornwall), you’re more likely to receive the most sun (lucky southerners!) throughout the year though keep your rain boots and brollies out just in case. Westerners (e.g. Manchester, Glasgow) receive the most rain as they’re the first ones to receive the onslaught from the Atlantic Ocean before it makes its way over land and calms down. Northerners (Scotland/Northern England) are a hardy crowd – often facing stronger wind, rain and overcast skies.

Brollys – British slang for umbrellas – are often a staple wherever you travel in the UK. Except if you’re in Edinburgh. The wind is often strong causing your lovely little brolly with the cute print that you just bought to turn inside out – collecting the rain in the now umbrella cup as you are exposed to the elements in all their glory. I’ve found a hood or hat always works better on a rainy and windy day in Edinburgh.

As an American you hear that the UK is rainy; however, in my optimism and naivety, I never really expected the full extent of what I experienced when I moved to Edinburgh. I remember wondering how I’d ever figure out how to walk in a straight line as blinding rain and strong winds were pelting me. Strong winds are a specialty of Edinburgh – a little treat for the unsuspecting. It’s as if Edinburgh is telling you, “I am beautiful but here’s my little quirk – enjoy darling x.” I constantly had to make the conscious effort not to be blown into shrubs for the first six months after my arrival as I watched old ladies hustle past me with the grace I lacked.

It has taken me nearly 4 years to accept and embrace the weather here. And I’ve learned a couple of things in the process (including how to walk in a straight line while windy). The Brits don’t let a little bit of wind or rain stop them from doing the things that they want or need to do. I have seen Brits use brollies on the beach not for the sun but to protect them against the wind blowing sand everywhere. And when the sun comes out, people make the most out of the sunny weather, adjusting their plans when they can, to take advantage of the clear, warm day.  There’s a lot to learn from that. Make the most out of what you have and find the opportunities in every situation.

What is the weather like where you’re from? Have you had to adjust to certain things? How do you make the most out of your weather?

Ironically, on the day I write about rain and brollies, it is actually a lovely clear day. That’s me off to make the most of the rest of my day. I hope you do too x

A sunny view from my flat. You can see Arthur Seat in the distance. At 823 feet high, Arthur's Seat is the highest peak in Edinburgh and can be extremely windy.
A sunny view from my flat. You can see Arthur’s Seat in the distance. At 823 feet high, Arthur’s Seat is the highest peak in Edinburgh and can be extremely windy.
Leave a Reply

