How to get healthy, full brows

Let me tell you a secret. I don’t have eyebrows. Ok yeah I do – if you put me up to a microscope you’ll see them but other than that you wouldn’t be able to tell. Think I’m exaggerating? Here’s a photo of my fair, sparse brows. You’d think my mom would have bequeathed me some of her full, gorgeous brunette brows but, alas, genetics are a funny thing.

photo of Benefit's Gimme Brow

And as we all want what we don’t have (grass is always greener and so forth), I would love some healthy, full brows. Can’t a girl just be able to show an expression? If I didn’t paint those bad boys on I doubt that anyone would be able to tell if I were happy, sad or mad. If I were an animal – I’d be a cat with those weird prickly whiskers poking out of their heads instead of a dog with expressive eyebrows. Too far? Nah, I didn’t think so either. There’s a reason the expression “puppy eyes” exist.no brow photo

So what’s a girl to do? I’ve been colouring in my brows with a blonde pencil for about six years now and sometimes I’ll add in powder for a more dramatic look. But lately I’ve felt that the pencil is too harsh – the pencilled in brow line is too defined and unnatural. In photos it looks alright but in person, I don’t feel like it’s giving me the healthy, full brows that I’m looking for.brow pencil photo

I decided to investigate other options and I came up with Benefit’s Gimme Brow. It had rave reviews on online shops and blogs, which made me wonder if it really was wonderful. So I made a wee trip into city centre after work and headed to Boots (a UK drugstore chain) where I asked the woman at the Benefit’s counter for a trial.

I was impressed with how quick it was to put on – a few quick, short and upward swipes along the inner brow line and this girl had a healthy, full expression! The gel is meant to stick to hair and skin when you brush it on (but don’t worry, it’s easy to wash off at the end of the day) so girls with sparse/fine/fair brows – all is not lost! Let’s throw a party! Another perk – you don’t have to redo your brows midway through the day as you would with a brow pencil. This stuff lasts all day!

Oh and you lovely girls with naturally beautiful, full brows who just want to add a bit of drama to your look – my research shows this works just as well for you! Here’s an example. Because it’s a gel with a brush, just brush your brow into shape and you’re ready to take on the day!

photo with Gimme Brow productBenefit’s Gimme Brows comes in two colours – light/medium and dark. I went with the light/medium. I’d recommend trying it at the department store/drugstore before purchasing a colour as you want to make sure you get the right shade for your complexion.

The only downside is that it’s a small tube and for £17.50/$22 US, I’d prefer a bigger tube. But I only need one tube application per brow so I’ll see how long this lasts. If you’re in the UK, you can purchase this at Boots, House of Fraser or John Lewis. If you’re in the US/Europe, head to Sephora.

Oh and don’t worry – I’m not getting paid to rave about this product. I’m just happy it gives me a healthy, full brow!

What are some of your tried and tested brow tips and tricks? Did you try Gimme Brow? If so, what did you think? Please share in the comments section below – would love to hear from you! x

4 thoughts on “How to get healthy, full brows

  1. I have similar brows, my brow hairs are dark but super sparse from the middle to end (no 1/2 brows, please). I love Gimme brow, but I still need to use a bit of pencil and powder with mine.

Leave a Reply

