No bake vegan/GF Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bars

Truth time. I’m a Cookie Monster. Not healthy Cookie Monster – I’m talking original Cookie Monster before he was preaching about your 5 a day fruits and veg. If I could without any consequence, I would inhale cookies and be pretty happy except for the rare moments between sugar highs.

vegan choco chip cookie dough bars

True story: When I was 15 I needed a hardcore cookie hit. Unfortunately, our oven was waiting to be fixed and it was a 15 minute drive from the nearest convenience store. So what’s this rabid Cookie Monster to do? I scour the pantry and find all the ingredients to make chocolate chip cookies and then I spot the waffle iron. That’s right. I convinced myself that chocolate chip cookie dough could cook in a waffle iron. It was an epic Pinterest fail moment and I was pretty disappointed I wasted precious chocolate chips.

image

I try to limit my cookie/sugar intake these days but it doesn’t mean I can’t sneak some into my diet sometimes. And with this recipe, even healthy Cookie Monster would be impressed.

This recipe is perfect for vegans, gluten-free diets or people who can’t be bothered to turn the oven on during a humid summer. This takes about 5 minutes to mix together and an hour to wait as it refrigerates.

Enjoy!

image

Gluten-free/dairy-free/no bake Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bars

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp (30 ml) coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp (30 ml) almond milk (or other non dairy milk)
  • 1/4 c (43.75 grams) brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp (15 ml) pure vanilla extract or half it if you want less vanilla flavour
  • 1/4 tsp (5 ml) salt (go for sea salt)
  • 3/4 cup (37.5 grams) gluten-free oat flour (throw oats in the food processor and mix until finely ground
  • 3/4 cup (27.5 grams) almond flour (through almonds in the food processor and mix until finely ground)
  • 1/4 cup (56.25 grams) sugar
  • 1/3 (50.6 grams) to 1/2 cup (76 grams) of vegan chocolate chips/dark chocolate

Method

  1. Melt the coconut oil in a bowl in the microwave. Whisk almond milk, brown sugar and vanilla extract until combined.
  2. Add the flours, salt and sugar. Mix.
  3. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Press onto parchment/baking paper and shape into a 1/2 inch thick rectangle.
  5. Refrigerate until set. Cut into bars and store in airtight container in the fridge.
  6. Enjoy by themselves or add to your ice cream if you’re really naughty.

Hope you enjoy them as much as I did! What are your temptation foods? Do you have any healthy recipes to replace them? x

image

3 thoughts on “No bake vegan/GF Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bars

  1. Oh yes, I remember well..the “waffle cookie” experiment! (I have to say, I applaud your resourcefulness and innovation! lol) These look great, I’m going to mix up a batch!!

    1. I knew that experiment would be etched in your memory! These chocolate chip cookie dough bars are definitely not like the waffle cookie disaster. They are delicious! Let me know what you think about them.

Leave a Reply

